21 Day Challenge – Week Four

Week Four

The truth of the matter is that there’s nothing you can’t accomplish if:

(1) You clearly decide what it is that you’re absolutely committed to achieving,

(2) You’re willing to take massive action,

(3) You notice what’s working or not, and

(4) You continue to change your approach until you achieve what you want, using whatever life gives you along the way.

Congratulations on completing the first 21 days! Wishing you the best of luck for your fourth week. I am so proud of you and the best part is how proud you are of each other. Continue to read each others entries, be inspired and know that you are not alone in this journey. I am inspired by all of you!

With love

Eva

www.BodyConditioningByDancers.com

To Read Week Three Journal Entires Click Here

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “21 Day Challenge – Week Four”

  1. Allison Says:

    I think one of my new challenges needs to be getting better at figuring out computer based blogs, ha ha! But here I am, posting away!

    So one of my “secret goals” for the challenge was..well…to step up my sports playing (I play on an ultimate frisbee team) to really be a COMPETITOR, not just a dancer who is playing for fun. I have been long jealous of the men on the teams I play on. I know I could KICK THEIR BUTTS in, for example, a conditioning class, but on the field, they outrun me, even though I know I am likely more fit. Part of this is because I am, well, short, but also because I am not used to sports in general. They kind of just “kick in” to this masculine sport drive that I don’t seem to really have…but I want it! I want to run faster and look dang scary (even though I am 5.1!!!) when I barrel down that field. And I really feel that last week and this week I let myself COMPETE, I ran HARD and it felt good…really good, so for me that was a big accomplishment. One of my newer team members who I don’t know at all came up to me after the last game and said “wow, I was watching you run, you’re like a steam engine out there” THAT was awesome! I have been working on the meditating, and in general just focusing on being calm at night, letting things go and just enjoying some quiet time, I need to work more on that of course, but I am trying.

    I guess it’s true though, anything boys can do, bcbd girls CAN do better, so those boys on the opposite teams better start looking out, “steam engine Allison” is coming!!! Good luck to all on sticking with your goals!

  2. Sara Says:

    I can’t believe it’s already week four! I feel like I could have done a lot better over the past weeks, but I am really trying, and that’s something. I did follow through on a couple of things however:

    I went spinning again! This is my second class and I really liked it. I even graduated to the next level – thanks Eva! That would have never happened in the past. So I feel good about that.

    I’ve cut way down on sugar.

    I ate way more greens last week!

    I still haven’t taken my measurements again since week one. I said I would do it at the two week mark, but I don’t feel that I’ve lost any inches and don’t want to feel discouraged. I will do it though!

    I am going away this weekend and I hope I can stay on track and find somewhere to exercise while I’m there.

    Otherwise, I am excited for the fundraiser and really hope I can get people to donate and/or show up and do the class.

    That’s it for now!

  3. Sara Says:

    Oops…one more thing!

    I am getting closer on the elbow elbow hand hand exercise. I have done it everyday at home and am getting closer to being able to do it. I can now do it at least twice, but of course I am hoping for more (and of course hoping I can do it with one leg in the air at some point!).

    I would also like to be able to do more of the last floor exercise (the 2 minutes of hell, I mean joy, that we do at the end of class). I have a really hard time with it, as do many others, and I would like to try and stay in the positions a little longer each week of class.

    That’s really it!

  4. SG Says:

    Hi everyone! So week 3 wasn’t the greatest week for me. Unfortunately most of the week I was under the weather due to a cold.. boooooo… so the first few days consisted of very little meals in the day time followed by really bad choices in the night time… although I got back on track on Friday when I did a make up of BCBD, and then Saturday I had a session with my trainer. That helped jump start me back into normal mode. So besides the bad eating choices this week, I still got in 2 solid work outs and I am over the cold now! Yay!

    I also finally found greek yogurt! I blended it up with mango and put it in the freezer. I tried it yesterday as a snack and added some whey powder for extra protein. It was awesome!

    I didn’t get a chance to try to meditation again, but it is on my list of things to do this week. Eva made a point in class yesterday about how eating healthy is like a full time job, it’s funny because I totally agree and thought it was just me who is constantly thinking about food! I feel like all day I’m planning my meals, my groceries and workouts in my head. Its good to know that I am not the only one!!

    That’s it for now, hopefully week 4 will be much better than week 3. I already think it will be!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Positive thought of the day: I love the sound of snow as it crunches under my feet.

    I love going in to class. Whether it is BCBD or yoga, or even going for a run, I will always come out feeling different then when I walked in.
    I love the direction my life is going in. For years I have wanted out of the never ending cycle of getting down on myself, and having negative thoughts. If I have moments in the day where I am starting to slip back into my negative habits, I think about the meditation that I listen to on a regular basis and I just “let go”.

    I bought my new running shoes, and although I was running very slow on the treadmill, I was still running. Baby seemed to like it too, he was moving all over the place. Either he loved it or I woke him up from a nap and he was annoyed. Either way, it felt amazing to run and feel my baby boy moving inside me at the same time!

    I also had an “Aha” moment last week. I am not a morning person. I love my sleep – I know, I know, something that I will need to adjust with a baby on the way! I woke up and I had a… let’s call it a “moment” where I was getting upset with my husband because our condo was not as tidy as I – in that brief moment, wanted it to be. I started the usual “Why can’t you just pick up after yourself” “how hard is it to wipe down the counter?” As I was saying these things all I could think was “What am I doing?”. In the grand scheme of things it does not matter if there are some crumbs on the counter, or that his shirts to go out to the dry cleaners is sitting on the floor . I looked at his face and I instantly knew that I was in the wrong. I was saying these things because I was tired. So what did I learn from this? To take a second and think before reacting I mean really think, and to let go! Also, it really does not matter. I don’t want to spend the little time that I have in the mornings with my wonderful hubby getting annoyed about some crumbs.

    Something else that made me proud these past couple of weeks – my hubby has started to run every morning or hitting the gym, he has even started to change his eating habits, something that I have been trying to change since we first got together. My dedication has inspired him  Of course, the other reason he could be stepping things up is the day we went to the gym together and I was able to do more push ups than him! That was a pretty awesome day  Just like Allison said, anything boys can do, BCBD girls CAN do better!

    Overall, I think I had a successful week last week.

    The difference between try and triumph is a little umph ~ author unknown

  6. michelle s Says:

    week 4 candida be gone!

    Confession:
    as I mentioned in week 3, I recently moved and am now undertaking a candida cleanse which involves drinking this awful stuff and eating an incredibly restrictive diet. I had ordered the “candida trauma kit” online early last week and to my dismay it took about 5 days to ship. On Thursday, (still without kit) I decided to “live it up” and enjoy all kinds of food before starting the cleanse. I’m not proud of myself for having done this – especially when I’m committing to being healthy for at least 21 days. I fell off the wagon…HARD.

    I had previously mentioned that food isn’t much of an issue for me as I tend to make healthy choices. I don’t know what it is about going on a cleanse that made me want to be so bad! I ate all kinds of crap during the later half of the week: wings, spring rolls, pizza, cheesy bread, and lava cake, I even had a club sandwich at 3 am. I drank beer all week and I’m not even a big drinker! Naughty naughty.

    One positive outcome from eating such an abundance junky foods is that I felt sluggish and lethargic. I call this positive because it detours me from wanting to pig out on greasy wings and lie in bed all day watching 2 entire seasons of “The Wire” ever again. It was a very dark few days for me. I was incredibly moody; I was very mean to my boyfriend; I yelled at my roommate. I don’t like behaving this way and decided to shut myself off from the world so I wouldn’t drag more people into my hole.

    Being a recluse proved to be detrimental to my sense of well-being. I was unmotivated, uninspired, and unpleasant. I don’t want to feel like that again. Needless to say, I’m super motivated to make this week a triumph.

    On a lighter note:
    I went to a makeup class for bcbd on monday, so I will be doing 3 classes this week (yay)! I also spent ALOT of time outdoors yesterday and today despite the fact that I hate cold weather. My nose is running and my hands are chapped and stinging but I have a smile on my face. It feels good to be active! I was in such a good mood I was singing out loud while walking through the park.

    The candida cleanse officially started today. Man I’m hungry.
    I’m going to karaoke tonight and can not drink. In fact I cant drink for this entire process. this will be tough, but being rid of this candida issue is enough motivation to stay dry for a month.

    BTW with regards to the meditation: I have very bad ADD and it’s very hard for me to focus on anything when there’s ambient noise. I have learned to meditate, and find the most effective way to clear my mind is to focus on my breath and picture a light going through my body. That being said, its very hard to shut off my brain and I tend to turn to my old friend clonazopam when I’m in dire straights. However in the spirit of the 21 day challenge I have been doing deep breathing exercises in bed.

    TIP- a great way to relax is to lie on your back with your legs propped up against the wall.

    Goals for this week:
    sticking to the diet
    Water water water.
    Wii fit on days with no bcbd class
    Unpack and organize my storage unit.
    Work on something creative- most likely a project on garage band.
    Stay positive!

  7. Lindsay Says:

    Week 4 = YAY me!

    I was having some troubles the past couple weeks but started to make some changes and it’s like weight off my shoulders!

    My good sleeps continued for 4 nights but the past two have been rough. I think with the positive things I’ve done today, I will get back on track.

    I was going to a chiropractor for a few years and have been trying to stop going but she kept guilting me into staying even though it’s far from where I work/live, and I can’t afford to go. I kept getting sucked back in, but finally (with the helpful advice from Eva) I wrote a letter saying thank you for the years of care..blah blah blah.done! Now I have every other Tues night open to do more beneficial stuff. 🙂

    I also had a client who’s work kept getting more and more complicated as I had less and less time to work on it. Things always kept preventing me from getting it done and since he has the gov’t chasing him down I decided it was best that someone else take over. It was a hard decision because he’s been so nice and I have a hard time letting people down, but I talked with my boss today and she said not to worry that she’d have one of the girls take it over in house. She was actually happy with me that I stepped up and said “this is now over my head..I need help” I have been stressing over this client for MONTHS and now it’s not my problem! phew!

    I also have other awesome news about my other work, but since it’s not 100% official yet, I’ll wait. Maybe I can share on my week 5 blog 🙂 Very happy!

    I was talking with my doctor this morning about the challenge and I said how I feel like I’m struggling and I haven’t been happy with my results so she asked what I set out to do, what have I been doing and getting from it…after I said it all she made note that the only goal I haven’t been accomplishing is doing more activity on days I don’t have classes on. All in all, that’s not bad! My eating has improved resulting in less stomach pain, my mood is better, my confidence is getting better, my sleep has improved some nights…I’m happy with what I have accomplished so far! The old me would not have been able to go into the grocery store and completely by-pass the holiday candy isle! 😉

    My goal this week is to stay positive and clean my apartment.

    🙂

  8. Dawna M Says:

    21 Day Challenge Week 4!

    Well, first, I just realized that I don’t think I posted my week three wrap-up! So I’ll ahve to go back and do that.

    Mid-way through week 4 kinda makes me think “wow, does time every fly!” Oh ya…ummm..when you’re having fun? lol OK, yes, this is actually fun….even when some things aren’t quite going the way you’d expect. 🙂
    The “fun” in it for me, comes from developing the habit of focusing on improving something you want to change and taking action to do it. In the end, it’s certainly more fun than “talking” about it…over and over and over again. I know I’m not perfect, but then again, I’m not really sure “perfect” exists, so it’s all good!

    So far, so great on my water intake! Having a glass when I wake up and go to bed and with every meal and workout, at the bare minimum has made a big difference and been easier for me to track. I thik less about it now actually. This also has made cutting back juice (sugary ones) and even the odd pop, much easier….not much room for all that additional liquid! 🙂

    I’ve been on a Chai Tea nad Honey kick this week, so not as much Green Tea, but still working on that.

    Cooking/Eating at home has been great too….I did eat out a couple of times, but have cut that back, I’d say, about 75% which is amazing for me! I’m still working on snacks and some good “go to” meals, but all in all, I’m much happier that it’s becoming more “normal” for me to go home and cook, than it is for me to “stop in the food court” on the way home!

    The Yoga and the meditation, I have not been as successful with yet. I was better with them both last week, but so far this week, not so much. I’m definitely active (I happen to be teaching or taking some kind of fitness class every day this week), but I am determined to incorporate Yoga somewhere in my sched. I need to take a better look. The meditation….this week, I’ve mostly just plain “forgotten”….note to self for tomorrow morning….

    Oh ya…and new goal: In bed by no later than 1am, at least during the week! Starting tomorrow….. 🙂

  9. Julianna Yu Says:

    This weekend, I had my first cupcake since before the challenge started. I picked a couple up from Bunners (vegan/gluten-free cupcake shop in The Junction ). Red Velvet and Vanilla! Although gluten-free, they didn’t taste any different to me then regular wheat cupcakes. They didn’t have the “beany” taste and I enjoyed every bite. Thinking back, the last time I had one was four weeks ago in Kensington Market at Miss Cora’s. At that time, I remember feeling a little sad that I wouldn’t be able to have them (for those days when I need a pick me up). This was a personal choice of mine to avoid the things I was craving and indulging in the most (cakes, chips, chocolate). As for chocolate and chips, I haven’t touched them. I do see them when I go to the grocery store or at work but I’m not missing them. So I’m happy to report that I am not using food to deal with stressful moments.

    This past week, I am feeling a lot better than in the prior two weeks because for most of it I managed to hit most of my goals (weekly meditation, supplements, lemon water before breakfast, preparing most of my meals and having breakfast at home). I believe that I was more successful with my goals this week because I reviewed them regularly (at least daily) and was journaling more often.
    I will be adding a few more goals for the final two weeks just to make things a little more challenging for myself.
    Adding pushups and tricep push up’s to my daily exercise routine.
    Increasing my veggie intake.
    Having protein at every meal.
    Decreasing white carbs.
    I believe the last one will be the most challenging for me but as long as I have enough variety in my meals I don’t think I should be missing anything.

    I subscribe to Naturally Savvy and thought the below article could be useful if you want to spruce up your meals with new dressings, sauces or toppings.
    http://bit.ly/htTBhV

  10. Rachelle Says:

    Week 4
    So this week was okay for me. Not as good as last week. School took over my life and I wasn’t sleeping properly and wasn’t exercising properly- BUT I was eating – for the most part- properly. That is what I am proud of right now. My thoughts about how I should eat have totally changed. I feel a difference in my body when I eat healthier foods. Having salads, brown rice, fish, chicken, fruits and veggies in my fridge at home has helped me stay away from grabbing chocolate bars and candy while I’m out. I have not drunk anything other than water, tea (and wine) – so no pop and juice and I feel great about it. I am now thinking- is it worth it? When I walk by Tim Hortons, Timothy’s and Second Cup- Yes all three are on my way home from the subway station- talk about temptation!!!

    On my cheat days- when I do allow myself to have chocolate or something along those lines I find myself feeling sick and sluggish. I would rather feel better and eat healthier than eat a lot of junk food just to satisfy a craving. That’s huge for me. I’m the girl who went to the dollar store picked out only candy and chocolate bars- skipped lunch and dinner and ate only candy while studying. And I also used to drink Coke with everything too. SO BAD!!

    With everything going on in my life- school, personal, career, jobs I am so happy that I have my food consumption under more control.

    This week I hope to plan out my schedule properly to make time for exercise- I want to exercise more than 3 times a week- which is what I’m doing now- and still fit everything in.

    Keep up the good work everyone!

    Wishing you love, health and happiness always!

    Rachelle

  11. Karleigh Says:

    This week was TERRIBLE as far as fitness and nutrition. I took most of the week off from working out and ate terribly. I had a lot of sweet treats, the kitchen staff at my work gave me chocolate cake and cheese cake on nights I was working, and I had take out food this weekend. I also made a mistake with an order and ended up bringing home a creamy cheese fat injected pasta which was yummy, but will add inches to my tummy… I plan to get back on track for the remaining weeks, and hopefully weeks after that.

    As for personal goals this week has gone very well. I have made new contacts and sent out samples of make up work, and gotten in contact with an agency I’m wanting to get into. I also did a shoot for a magazine that I’ve worked with in the past, so I am very excited to keep moving forward.

    For this week, I have chosen the photos I want to have printed and sent them to the photographer I work with to put her finishing touches on them, I want to have my website up by the end of the week and look into where I will have the photos printed and how big of a dent it will put in my wallet. I also want to set up a time to work on my next blog post- a video blog about how to apply make up for a perfect face. I’m going to shoot it in my studio with a model and nice lighting… I want it to look professional 🙂

    Good luck in the following weeks to all!!!

    Karleigh

  12. Katie Says:

    You know, I have to say first off, that even with journalling & blogging I’ve yet to fully comprehend the positive changes participating in this challenge has done for me!
    I can most definitely say there has been some great changes that have been so natural & subtle to enter into my life with the motivation of this challenge & the best part is: it hasn’t felt hard! So many years have gone by with resolutions falling on their faces so hard & fast but not this year.
    I’ve now completed the five week nutrition course I took through the lovely ladies who wrote the nutritional segment of the challenge, Tamara & Sarah from the Living Wellness Kitchen Group. (If you get a chance take a course from them. They are so lovely & sweet & so smart & helpful!)
    However good my changes have been I did have some cheats this week due to having been spoiled at a fine dining establishment (partially attributed to for work I swear!) as well as treating the boyfriend to a hearty birthday dinner.
    On the other hand, I have brought in the yoga & I can already feel a difference in my body after just 2 classes (soon to be more in quantity & frequency).
    As for my personal goal to get on finding a new job, that will officially start this Tuesday. Hopefully some friends & leads will be promising, but as I mentioned, this will not be a rushed job hunt. The next job I take will be carefully sought after.
    Finally, the reading & writing… slow & steady but it’s getting done & that’s better than nothing.

    Happy love day, remember to love & accept yourself!

  13. V "eh" G Says:

    Week Four – The Hump

    It’s week four and I’m still not living in my own apartment. The bonus – being what my friends call “Mom material”, living with someone else has me desperate to feed them and I have started cooking a lot more at “home” again. The not so bonus – sharing a bachelor means not having my own space and has lead to the quiet and sudden death of my morning pilates/kettlebells workout and the return of jigglier arms and thighs.

    A few weeks ago in an attempt to make the vegetarianism go down easier, I signed up for a bi weekly organic fruit and vegetable delivery service. Not only has this broadened my produce horizons, but it has been keeping me busy trying to come up with creative and healthy ways to cook said produce. The result? Well last week I ate out twice vs. my usual twice a day, which must be a record for me. Sure it’s been a lot more work and my friend’s apartment now more resembles some sort of weird produce sweatshop, but who knew there were so many ways to cook parsnip? Or that beets come in other colors than, well beet red? Fascinating really. Another big win for me, surviving Super Bowl. With a little luck I managed to convince my group of girlfriends to watch the game at home rather than at a bar, and treated them to a veggie/low fat version of our favourite game treats. I think the hardest part for me was not indulging in a cold sudsy beer, but I got over it pretty quick when I did the math and realized I’d have to do an hour of cardio to work off two bottles.

    Just like Sara I have been avoiding taking my measurements again because although I feel healthier, I haven’t noticed much of a change with my weight or size and don’t want to get derailed by a non-shrinking waistline. With my morning fitness routine on indefinite hiatus, I have been making a more conscious effort to get to the gym after work but I am finding myself getting more and more discouraged by lackluster classes and the amount of time it takes me to get to and from the gym. I mean there is only so much Zumba one person can take and with already not enough hours in the day, I sometimes have a hard time rationalizing taking 2.5 hours out of my day to squeeze in 50 minutes of cardio. I made a deal with myself and on the two days I didn’t get my a$$ to the gym I forced myself to walk further and longer and do small spurts of cardio (jumping jacks/skipping/jump & Waving) while fixing dinner. Oh and I did another hour of yoga and actually kind of liked it. But that stays between us.

    For week Five my goals are pretty simple, be more mindful of what I am eating by tracking my food intake and to make sure I am getting at least 1 hour of exercise a day in addition to my walk to and from work. Also this week marks the end of my 40 day prohibition and meatlessness as well as a trip to Napa Valley. It’s going to be a challenge not overindulging but it is time to start learning how to manage portions and exercising control. I am lucky to be going with the one friend that has been really supportive of my lifestyle changes, which is a big plus, but as reformed fast food junkie it is going to be really hard for me to go to the motherland of fried food and not give in to the neon lit sirens.

  14. Cat Says:

    First off, I’ve been writing these entries at work and forgot to post it this week- not a bad thing because it means my work laptop stayed AT work! (I think I’ve forgotten week 3 too… and will paste it in after I paste THIS one in!)

    I can’t believe how fast time flies! This week, I’ve kept up with most of my goals and am really seeing a difference in terms of my energy.
    I’ve kept up with the morning routine I set up for myself, meditation and drinking more water (I notice now when I’m dehydrated!)

    I also am starting to plan my meals better, which was a new goal I added to my list last week. My excuse has always been that I couldn’t buy a lot of groceries because I live alone, if I did they would go bad. I’d also fooled myself by saying that because I didn’t own a car, I wasn’t able to do a big order. Well enter the answer to my problems: planning meals + grocerygateway.com. During week 3, I made a point of trying to keep my fridge full with good food items and I already love it! I’m not someone who eats badly to begin with, but I did used to eat not as regularly as I should, and eat out. What I’ve discovered though, is that more that having food in the fridge go bad, I can’t stand having food I’ve prepared go bad. Now, cooking a meal actually turns into cooking 3 meals- which means another lunch and dinner!

    I’m also taking care to get some snack type foods, but would love some suggestions from anyone. I need stuff that’s easy to bring to work, and to eat at my desk. Ideas??

    Lastly, I’m more motivated than ever to take my health into my hands now. My father had to go in for an angiogram this week, and has to go for an angioplasty in a few weeks now. He underwent bypass surgery 2 years ago, which one would think would make you change your lifestyle choices. He started off well at the beginning, but has fallen back into some not great habits (not exercising, eating high cholesterol foods and high sugar ones, being overly stressed with work). Leading a healthy lifestyle is hard, and as much as I can tell him he needs to change, he is the only person that can do anything.

    Being young, it’s easy to forget that the choices we are making now will have an impact later. I’m guilty of that too- even in a family that has a high propensity for heart disease. I sometimes let myself believe that it’s only temporary, but the realization of this challenge is definitely that if you want to make something part of your life, you REALLY have to not make excuses for yourself.
    So, for the next few weeks, I want to make sure I keep pushing myself, and become more aware of the habits I’d like to take control over.

    Have a good week everyone!

  15. Vanessa Says:

    I know this is a bit behind but I remember last week! I did well in terms of remembering to have my lemon water. I’m still having problems getting up to 2 litres of water a day but I at least think about it. I feel like the mindfulness aspect of this challenge is probably what’s most beneficial. Change can only happen when you’re aware of what you’re doing and know what you want to do differently.

    The meditation track has helped me to just slow down and take a breather. It’s really easy to just go go go but so important to take the time to pause.

    I haven’t has any coffee and feel great from that. And I should eat slower but it’s hard for me. I think part of it is that I tend to eat on the go (like on the bus or subway) or that I’m in a rush when it’s time to eat. I should try to make more time for meals but it’s not always possible.

  16. Karleigh Says:

    This week has been pretty good. I have been active and nutrition has been pretty good overall. I have A LOT of trouble staying away from sweets, specifically chocolate and cakes. I’ve decided to increase my activity level and cut back on sweets instead of trying to cut them out.

    I tried a Hot Yoga class yesterday and liked it. I am not very into Yoga, but I liked the heat a lot. I think that I have a hard time with Yoga because I have a lot of trouble clearing my mind and staying present during the class. I tend to let my mind wander and often realize I’m planning the rest of my day or thinking about doing laundry. I want to keep going to classes and try to see if I can work up to making it though a class without thinking “as soon as I get home I’ll have lunch, then do the dishes…” I am also going to take one or two more classes and get a membership at another studio I’ve been going to.

    The classes I take are perfect for me because all of them are set schedule classes that you sign up for. I like being committed and having to go to class. I used to have a membership at a drop-in dance studio and found that I ended up not using it at all. I need to have a set time that I have to be somewhere. I am very organized and like to know where and when I have to be places, or I usually don’t end up going.

    My personal goals have gone very well this week. My website is up (www.karleighjohnstone.com) and I have started to organize filming my first video blog. I am a little bit nervous about this because I have no idea how to edit the video, but I’ll figure it out. I found a model, know what I going to be doing and have the studio space, I just have to shoot it. I also worked on another Rogers shoot and met some very interesting people who I learned a lot from that day.

    I can’t believe tomorrow starts the last week of the challenge. When I get up in the morning I am going to set my goals for the week and work really hard to make the last week of the challenge the best so far!

    Karleigh

Leave a Reply

